dennis gonzalez’s hymn project august 2


dennis gonzalez















A 17,000 word exchange between Dennis and myself, from 2005 – it appeared on the jazz site One Final Note.


Poet, linguist, painter, teacher and musician, trumpeter Dennis González has been performing and recording for over three decades. He is the founder of an organization (Daagnim) similar to AACM for the Dallas scene. Gonzalez is one of the most important voices of present day American improvised music.

For this concert, he will present new arrangements of his hymn project with some of the strongest improvising musicians in the Twin Cities: Chris Bates (double bass), Brandon Wozniak (tenor saxophone), Nathan Hanson (tenor and soprano saxophone), and Pete Hennig (drums).

For many years Gonzalez has composed hymns based on American, South African, and Norwegian religious melodies, providing a structure for ensemble improvisation. The hymns typically bear dedicatory titles, often to the musicians Gonzalez has known and admired, such as Julius Hemphill, John Carter, and Louis Moholo.

A ridiculous, partial list of musicians Gonzalez has performed and recorded with:

John Purcell, Prince Lasha, John Blake, Ronnie Burrage, Charlie Burnham, Warren Benbow, Pheeroan ak Laff,  Kelvyn Bell,  Alvin Fielder, Tim Green, Kidd Jordan, Marlon Jordan, Elton Heron, Clyde Kerr, Jr, Sunship Theus, Henry Franklin, John Carter, Michael Sessions, Nels Cline, Alex Cline, Louis Moholo-Moholo, Elton Dean, Keith Tippett, Kazimierz Jonkisz, Sidsel Endresen, Nils Petter Molvaer, John Stevens, Dudu Pukwana, Paul Rogers, Mark Sanders, Mark Hewins, Jim Dvorak, Lado Jaksa, Ernesto Rodrigues, Joao Paulo, Rodrigo Amado, Wojtek Mazolewski, Ernest Mothle. Charles Brackeen, Frank Lowe, Andrew Cyrille, Malachi Favors, Reggie Workman, Roy Hargrove, Fred Hopkins, Oliver Lake, Max Roach, Cecil Taylor, Henry Grimes, Ahmed Abdullah, Mark Helias, Ellery Eskelin, George Cartwright, Sabir Mateen, Roy Campbell, Jr., Olu Dara, Douglas Ewart, Hamid Drake,



nathan hanson













brandon wozniak















chris bates

















peter hennig